First Ranking Regatta on the Board

The first Optimist ranking regatta for the 2016/2017 season is complete, after a good weekend of racing at New Plymouth Yacht Club. The North Island Championship rotates annually between Napier, Taupo and New Plymouth.

Nearly 100 Open fleet and 24 Green fleet took part.   Unfortunately Fridays racing was cancelled for too much wind. Saturday was a lighter affair, and then big breeze and ocean swells on Sunday to complete.

Congratulations in the Open Fleet to the Winner Seb Menzies (MBSC), followed by Monty Alderson (KYC) and Thomas Mulcahy (MBSC).  First girl was Greta Pilkington (MBSC).

Silver Fleet was won by William Beauchamp followed by Amelia Back and Max Scott.

Green Fleet honours went to Dylan Collins (MBSC), Jack Parr (NPYC) and Naomi Ferrissey (MBSC).

The year end rankings to nominate next years travelling teams will be based 40% on your best two results out of North Islands, Auckland Champs, and Interislander, and 60% on the Nationals to be held at Napier at Easter.

Full Results can be seen here.







Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s